VIDEO: How to Add and Modify Google Analytics Users

Video Transcript:

Hi everyone this is Danny with plus Republic I’m going to be running you guys through how to set up user permissions in your Google Analytics accounts both internally and externally; so if you’re looking to provide them for use within your marketing department or in your company or to outside agencies who need access to your web analytics data this applies to both those situations. First we’ll go to Google.com/analytics, go to the top right, click sign-in and select analytics.

If you’ve been in here before then this should all look relatively familiar. This is your main dashboard area. Where you can access user permissions is in this admin section, so if you click on the admin navigation item you have three options across the top. Accounts, properties and views. This is very important because depending on where you set the user permissions will grant different levels of access. If I’m Plush Republic and am managing a variety of different clients’ analytics accounts, I may have a handful of different accounts listed underneath the accounts section besides just Plush Republic’s. Also if you have different properties within any one of those accounts you can find them in here. The final column is the views which I break out in a different video on my YouTube channel.

Say I wanted the highest level of account access where they can see all of the different properties and views I’d set it at this first level and so on and so forth. I will typically be looking at the property review level. Say I want to give them access to everything within the Plush Republic property, I can set that here or if I only wanted to set one for the marketing department traffic view that I’ve set up I could do it here. We’ll go ahead and click into the user management section underneath properties. You’ll see that I already have two different users, both myself, in here with full manage, collaborate, edit and read & analyze access. To add a user, you would go down to here and type in their email address. You would then select on this right-hand side what permissions they should have. This is very important because it goes from the bottom to the top with increasing permission sets.

Read & Analyze allows them to see all the data as well as to see all the different assets. The difference between read & analyzing and collaborators is that collaborate allows them to edit the assets in your account. Assets include customer segments, annotations, dashboards and re-marketing audiences. If you are unclear about what any of those are you can find out more here. Edit permissions allow users edit access and manage users allows them to add other users which is the highest possible permission. Select whichever ones you want and click add. Also, select notify this user by email so you know they’ve added them to the account.

Subscribe to Our Blog and Receive the Latest News in Digital Marketing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *